Natural Void

Posted , 12 users are following.

I would love to know if anyone on this forum besides jimjames gets a natural void after doing CIC,and had complete urine retention? Even a small amount of natural void? This information would be a big hope for all who do CIC.

0 likes, 53 replies

53 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

There are folks who have reported they regained the ability to void naturally after doing CIC. I am not one of them yet. I have been doing it for 22 months. I was retaining 1.5L before I started. I do get the urge now with much less in the bladder, but no flow yet. CIC is much better than what I was experiencing before I started.

• Posted

PM, Did you have natural void before you started CIC ?

• Posted

Before CIC, I had frequent urges to urinate, and I would void about half a urine sample cup each time but was still retaining 1.5L in my bladder. I would get up several times at night and sometimes would go three times in an hour during the day. It would take a minute or more to get that half cup once the flow (or dribble) started.

• Posted

Ask your doctor for a prescription for a diuretic. I have been on it for a number of years and it helps with a good flow after having full retention. There may be some who dispute this but they have not discussed this with their doctor. Beware of herbals and supplements that are unregulated because they do nothing.

• Posted

My doctor called it nonsense but gave me diuretic anyway. Been taking it for months with no improvements. I read your other posts. What you had was an AUR and you had a procedure, with months of catherzization. The procedure and the catherization are what help your urinary retention, not the diuretic.

• Posted

That may be so but my daily take of the diuretic has prevented retention from recurring. If your doctor gave it to you it was not nonsense. Give it another few months. Is the inconvenience of CIC restoring it any quicker?

• Posted