Synthroid - generic vs. name brand

Posted , 21 users are following.

I was recently switched to the name brand of Synthroid after taking the generic for 20 + years. I really didn't notice any side effects from the generic but since switching to the name brand I have begun having hot flashes and night sweats (I'm WAY past menopause) and I feel anxious, moody, my foot is constantly moving when I'm sitting and recently I noticed I'm clenching my teeth. Has anyone had this experience when going from the generic to the name brand?

2 likes, 42 replies

42 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I'll have to try the kelp. I'm thinking I may ask my doctor to switch me back to the Levothyroxine instead of the Synthroid at my next appointment. Thanks so much for your help!
  • Posted

There is more levothyrox in the generic ; your symptoms tell you that. You must lower the dosage.
  • Posted

Hi, It does sound like you are perhaps slightly overmedicated but I'm not a doctor. I live in NZ and I am now very well on Synthroid...took a while to get levels just right for me but my doctor treats my symptoms rather than focusing solely on Lab results. What I can tell you is that my Pharmacist was very clear that you need to stick to one brand and if you are changing it can cause a whole lot of side effects and needs close monitorng. I'm wondering if it's the switch that is causing you the problems rather than Synthroid specifically if you see what I mean? Also please can you tell me if you were prescribed Synthroid in the UK? I am returning end of 2014 and I am already anxious about having to switch to a new brand. I'm hoping Synthroid is prescribed over there. I wish you well with your thyroid health...it is awful being either over or under medicated. Good Luck
    • Posted

Interesting about the switching. Wonder if u start on one u should just stay on it. Tried switching twice but I couldnt deal with the synthroid
    • Posted