TKR 2 weeks ago. Struggling with physio

Posted , 17 users are following.

Hi..this is my first time on here.  I had a TKR two weeks ago and saw my physio 6 days ago and surgeon 4 days ago and they both said I need to do more more more physio. I have to do 10-20 minutes every hour or so!  I am in so much pain when I do them. I am struggling to straighten my leg and my bend is about 80%. They couldn't understand why I was using crutches after a week (I should be using a stick!)  They have frightened me into thinking I won't get better if I don't exercise as they say. I am quite young to have had this op, is this why they are harsh with me?  Can anybody recommend some bending exercises that are not as painful. Thank you

2 likes, 163 replies

163 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi,

I'm afraid most exercises are a struggle at your stage probably due to swelling as much as anything.

Have you been advised to use a cryocuff to ice the knee?  For the first six weeks my husband did this for me every two hours for 20 minutes.  It is so soothing and reduces swelling.

Adequate pain relief is vital otherwise you will naturally hold back from exercising.

I am pretty tired of surgeons being harsh.  They just deal with the mechanics. Dealing with what comes after is another matter altogether.  It is SO difficult, both physically and mentally.

Lynn 17.5 weeks post op

• Posted

hi Lynn, thanks for your reply. Yes I have a cryocuff but have not been using it as often as you did. Maybe I need to do that. Pain relief is such a hard thing to get right. I also suffer from a herniated disc in my lower back so this does hamper my exercising as the last thing I want is my back to go again!  My leg is still swollen but physio said after a week if I had been doing my exercises properly it shouldn't have been. I think I will just forget about him and the surgeon for a week or two and try not be so harsh on myself, I am walking with a stick, not far and with a limp but I'm walking!