week 7 on fluoxetine, needing advise

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi everyone.

I have been on 20mg of fluoxetine and 80mg of propranolol now for 7 weeks and I have only had a slight bit of improvement I have had a review with my GP and I think she wanted to up my dosage but I was too scared so she said at my next review in 4 weeks time to see how I am then.

This is my first time on these medications and everything has been triggered by me buying my first house and moving out of my parents. To cut a long story short I brought the house in July, moved in in Oct after painting it etc, the first night I could hear next door's music and their child crying which i was not used to living in a detached all my life, it made me feel sick and I started worrying, days went on I started being sick and noticed that they are very loud a lot of thudding, banging and music playing. My symtoms were worrying, over thinking, not wanting to be there, not eating, crying and very low mood. I got so ill in Nov I had to go back home, I visted the house every day until xmas then after xmas I had a break down. I was sucidial and my mind was over worrying and thinking that much I thought I was going crazy! I went to the GP they perscribed me the 20mg fluoxetine, I got worse went back and got the propranolol aswell, I started paying for a private therapist which I have had about 7 sessions. I kept away from the house until last week I went up there for the first time in over 6 weeks and felt a bit ok then went up again and could hear next doors music, my chest started burning and I felt like I was going to be sick so I left. I felt worse then I did when I first moved in and it confused me because I wasn't on medication then.

Just wondering if anyone could give me any advise on the Fluoxetine should it be working better? Will it help me when I hear a noise at the house? Will it help me comparing myself to other people?

I'm in a bit of a mess and so confused by everything